View our Guestbook!

Sign our Guestbook!
Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! try and find me yesterday's headlines

Saturday, Aug. 01, 2020 - 10:30 PM

Pretty Cursive
by Adam Jeffrey Jr.

My school was going to do The Wolf Man as a play because Mr. Brogan said he “needed to spice things up” because no one ever came to our school plays. I had seen the old movie and thought I would be the best for the role of the fortune teller gypsy. Because I already had the costume that my gram made me for Halloween. She made a green turban for me and a long dress with lots of layers and colors. She gave me the prettiest rings and beads to wear with it, too. I have a good memory and I thought I would be able to learn what I needed to say in the play fast and easy. Dad said I'm a chatterbox which means I can talk loud enough for people to hear. And also, I thought I would be the best person to play the fortune teller gypsy because my gram taught me scrying and tarot.

Because of these things I knew that I was the best choice for the role of the fortune teller gypsy in the Wolf Man play.

I tried-out in my dress and I brought my crystal and my tarot cards. Mr. Brogan said he liked my props and I told him they weren’t props. I acted the lines they told me to act. Mom made me look old and wise with mascara and eyebrow pencil. I knew I did a good job because I lost track of time and when I was done I felt like I do when I wake up from a dream: cotton in my ears, gauze over my eyes, and warm in my arms.

But they didn't give me the part of the fortune teller gypsy. They gave it to Nicole who got her dress from a Halloween shop. She didn’t know what scrying or tarot were. But she wore star stickers on her cheeks and lipstick. Nicole is far prettier than me.

My dad said I was a sore sport for not going to see the play. That didn't make me feel better.

To talk to my gram about it, I lit the candle and held the pencil real loose in my hand over the piece of paper. My gram has pretty cursive.

I told my gram I didn't get the part and she asked what the cards and crystal said. I told her the same thing they always told me about myself. She told me it must be true then. She said people will always be embarrassed by how much heart I have—that people are ashamed when they see a little girl with more heart than they'll ever have. She said the world will always be scared of the real deal.

I watched The Wolf Man movie again. I decided that Lon Chaney Jr. wasn't a good actor. I could see him sweat through his makeup from liquor and not the stage lights. I could tell he was thinking about his dad.

Are you bored yet?

don't look - recent garbage

Look Out I'm nervous read other smut recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!